Manik Saha takes oath as Tripura chief minister | India News

NEW DELHI: Tripura BJP president Manik Saha on Sunday was sworn-in as the 12th new chief minister of the state.
Manik Saha replaced Biplab Kumar Deb as the chief minister of the northeastern state.
Saha was named as the leader of the BJP legislature party on Saturday after Deb resigned as the chief minister just a year ahead of the state elections.
A dentist by profession, Saha had won the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura earlier this year.
Saha, who quit the Congress and joined the BJP in 2016, was made the party’s state president in 2020.
He had replaced Biplab Kumar Deb who had led the saffron party to a resounding victory in 2018, ending a 25-year-old Communist rule.
He is also the president of the Tripura Cricket Association. Before he joined mainstream politics, Saha used to teach in Tripura Medical College located at Hapania.

Source link

For more news update stay with actp news

Android App




Share Chat


Koo App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: