Bishnupur Constituency of West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2024: Date of Voting, Result, Candidates List, Main Parties, Schedule | India News

NEW DELHI: Voting for the Bishnupur constituency in the Lok Sabha elections is scheduled for May 25, marking the sixth phase of the electoral process. West Bengal will witness voting across all seven phases, spanning from April 19 to June 1, to elect 42 members to the Lok Sabha.
The election results will be announced on June 4, 2024. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal, the TMC won 22 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, while the BJP gained notable momentum with 18 seats.Congress won two seats.
The candidates from the Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency are: AITC’s Sujata Mandal, CPI(M)’s Shital Koiborto, and BJP’s Saumitra Khan.
In 2019, the Bishnupur parliamentary constituency boasted 1,627,199 eligible voters. Saumitra Khan, representing the Bharatiya Janata Party, emerged victorious, clinching 657,019 votes and securing the position of MP for the constituency. Trailing behind was Shyamal Santra from the All India Trinamool Congress, garnering 578,972 votes. He fell short by 78,047 votes in the race.
In 2014, the Bishnupur parliamentary constituency boasted a total of 1,466,921 electors. Saumitra Khan, the candidate from the All India Trinamool Congress, clinched victory to become the MP from this constituency by securing a total of 578,870 votes. Susmita Bauri, the candidate from the Communist Party Of India (Marxist), came in second with a total of 429,185 votes. She fell short by 149,685 votes in her bid for victory.
The main parties vying for seats in West Bengal include the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and a coalition of Left Front and Indian National Congress.
The model code of conduct came into effect from March 16 and will continue until the completion of the vote counting process on June 4.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link