Congress fields Y S Sharmila from Kadapa; Jawed to contest from Kishanganj, Tariq Anwar from Katihar | India News

NEW DELHI: The Congress on Tuesday released a list of 17 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.
Among the key contenders are Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar, who will be contesting from Bihar’s Kishanganj and Katihar constituencies respectively.
Y S Sharmila, the chief of the party’s Andhra Pradesh unit, has been nominated to run from Kadapa, while former Union minister M M Pallam Raju will be contesting from Kakinada in Andhra Pradesh.
The party’s candidate roster also includes Ajeet Sharma from Bhagalpur in Bihar, Gidugu Rudra Raju from Rajahmundry, J D Saleem from Bapatla (SC), and P G Ramapullaiah Yadav from Kurnool in Andhra Pradesh. Munish Tamang has been named as the candidate from Darjeeling in West Bengal. This brings the total number of candidates announced by the Congress to 228.
Saptagiri Sankar Ulaka, the current MP from Koraput (ST) in Odisha, has been renominated.
Other candidates from Odisha include Sanjay Bhoi from Bargarh (ST), Janardan Dehury from Sundargarh (ST), Manoj Mishra from Bolangir, Draupadi Manjhi from Kalahandi, Bhujabal Majhi from Nabarangpur (ST), Amir Chand Nayak from Kandhamal, and Rashmi Ranjan Patnaik from Berhampur.
However, the suspense remains over the candidate selection for the significant seats of Amethi and Raebareli.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link