East Delhi constituency of Delhi Lok Sabha Election 2024: Date of voting, result, candidates list, main parties, schedule | India News

NEW DELHI: East Delhi constituency, along with six other Lok Sabha constituencies in Delhi, will participate in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 25, 2024. The election results for the East Delhi constituency will be declared on June 4.
The East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency is one of seven parliamentary constituencies in New Delhi. It encompasses the entire East Delhi district, parts of Shahdara district, and parts of South East Delhi district.
In the 2019 elections, East Delhi recorded a 61.64% voter turnout.BJP candidate Manoj Tiwari secured a victory with a margin of 366,102 votes, amassing 787,799 votes. He defeated Sheila Dikshit of the Indian National Congress, who received 421,697 votes.
For the upcoming polls on May 25, key contenders include Harsh Malhotra of the BJP and Aam Aadmi Party’s Kuldeep Kumar. Gautam Gambhir, the former cricketer and current BJP member, will not be contesting. On March 2, Gambhir requested to be relieved from his political duties in a letter to the BJP leadership.
The BJP’s prospects are strengthened by the inclusion of former Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely, who ran against Gambhir in 2019 and is popular among Punjabi voters.
In Delhi, the main political parties are the BJP, which won all seven Lok Sabha seats in the last election, and the INDIA bloc parties, AAP and Congress, which will contest the elections in alliance.

Source link