Election Commission orders transfer DMs and SPs in 5 states | India News

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Tuesday ordered a fresh set of transfers of senior poll-related officers, shifting out eight district magistrates (DMs), 12 superintendents of police (SPs) and a few IG and DIG-level officers across five states.
Among the officers transferred by the poll panel to maintain a level playing field are the DM of Udalgiri in Assam; DM & SP of Bhojpur & Nawada districts in Bihar and the SP of Deoghar in Jharkhand.EC has also directed the Jharkhand government to fill up the vacant posts of SP(Rural) Ranchi, DIG Palamu and IG Dumka.
In Odisha, the poll panel ordered the transfer of DM of Cuttack and Jagatsinghpur and the SP of Angul, Behrampur, Khurda and Rourkela districts; besides the deputy commissioner of police (DCP) of Cuttack & Inspector General, Central.
In Andhra Pradesh, the list of transfers ordered by EC included the DMs of Krishna, Ananthapuramu and Tirupati districts and the SPs of Prakasam, Palnadu, Chittoor, Ananthapuramu and Nellore districts, apart from IGP, Guntur Range.
An EC spokesperson said the decision to transfer the officers was taken as part of the regular review by the Commission during a meeting chaired by chief election commissioner Rajiv Kumar along with election commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu.
Under the EC directive, all the transferred officials have been asked to hand over the charge to their immediate junior officer and these officers will not be assigned any election duty till completion of the ongoing general elections. The respective state governments have been directed to send a panel of names of IAS and IPS officers to the Commission to name the replacements.

Source link