IND Vs ZIM 3rd T20I: Washington Sundar, Shubman Gill help India to beat Zimbabwe by 23 runs

Shubman Gill-led Indian cricket team on 10 July defeated the Sikandar Raza-led Zimbabwe in the third T20I match at Harare by 23 runs. With this, India have taken a lead in the series by 2-1.

Washington Sundar was announced the ‘Player of the Match’ for picking up three wickets for India.’

On Wednesday, three players – Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube – joined the playing XI. All these players could bot play the first two T20Is as they were part of the T20 World Cup and were stuck at Barbados.

Indian Innings:

Earlier, Shubman Gill won the toss and elected to bat first. Since beginning both the openers – Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal dominated over the bowlers, as India completed 50 runs in 4.1 overs.

However, India lost Yashasvi in the first delivery of 9th over by Sikandar Raza. Yashasvi, who joined the India playing XI after missing two matches, scored 36 off 27 balls.

Following this, India lost Abhishek (10) in the third delivery of 11th over by Raza.

In the meantime, skipper Shubman Gill not completed his second T20I half century, but it was also his maiden half-century as captain in T20I cricket. Gill scored 66 off 49 balls, before sending sent by Muzarabani to pavilion on the 5th delivery of 18th over.

Another player who almost missed his half century was Ruturaj Gaikwad, as he lost his wicket to Muzarabani in the 4th delivery of 20th over.

In total, India scored 182 runs after losing 4 wickets in 20 overs and gave 183-runs target for Zimbabwe to chase.

For Zimbabwe, both Blessing Muzarabani and Sikandar Raza picked two wickets.

Zimbabwe innings:

Chasing 183 runs in the third T20I against India at Harare, Zimbabwe could only score 159/6 runs in 20 overs

For Zimbabwe, Dion Myers scored a half century of 45 balls and was unbeaten at 65 off 49 balls. While, Clive Madande scored 37 off 26 balls. Apart from this, no other batter could last long in the crease.

For India, Washington Sundar picked up three wickets, Avesh Khan took two wickets and Khaleel Ahmed picked one.

The fourth T20I of the series is slated on Saturday, 13 July, while the fifth is on 14 July. 

With agency inputs.

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India’s undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 10 Jul 2024, 08:27 PM IST

Source link