Lok Sabha polls: Mamata Banerjee says ‘probe agencies working for BJP’, seeks level-playing field | India News

NEW DELHI: Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday launched a scathing attack on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while addressing a public rally in Cooch Behar ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.
In a no-holds-barred attack on the BJP, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo alleged that the central probe agencies, BSF, and CISF are working at the behest of the BJP, and she vowed to urge the Election Commission to investigate the matter and ensure a level playing field ahead of the polls.
Mamata Banerjee declared that her party would not succumb to the “threat of central agencies.” She even encouraged locals to file police complaints if they encounter instances of BSF torture ahead of the polls which is scheduled for April 19.
“The central investigating agencies, including the NIA, Income Tax, BSF, and CISF, are working for the BJP. We will humbly plead with the Election Commission to ensure a level playing field as central agencies are aligning with the saffron camp,” she asserted.

‘Trust snake, not BJP,’ says Mamata

Taking a swipe at the BJP, Mamata Banerjee remarked that one can trust a snake but not the BJP.
“You can trust a poisonous snake; you can even pet it, but you can never trust the BJP… The BJP is destroying the country,” she added.
The West Bengal Chief Minister criticized the BJP for adhering solely to the principle of one nation and one party.

PM to Address Rally in Cooch Behar

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to hold a rally in Cooch Behar around 3 pm on Thursday.
In a virtual interaction with BJP Karyakartas from West Bengal on Wednesday, the Prime Minister criticized the ruling TMC.
PM Modi emphasized that the biggest issue in Bengal is violence, and the BJP will closely monitor the events that unfold in the state.
West Bengal has 42 parliamentary constituencies. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) secured 22 seats, while the BJP bagged 18, and the Congress managed only two seats.
(With agencies input)

Source link